The Gold Standard?

The second of my hotel room reviews from this past week’s trip is the Golden Gate. While I had stayed there before, I had upgraded to one of their suites, which was very nice. This time I decided to take the complimentary basic room and it was a bit of an adventure. Based on some of the videos I had seen, it appeared that, while the rooms were quite small, they were quite modern and nice. That may be true of some of them but the one I was assigned was very dated. There was a decent sized TV, a safe, an updated showerhead and one of those ihome clocks. Otherwise, everything looked every day of its 112 years of existence. The “step up” sign on the entrance to the bathroom was classic and the bathroom itself was a closet where you had to be careful not knock your toiletries into the toilet. I had a terrible time coaxing anything but scalding water from the shower, which was quite unpleasant. The view was of a series of pipes and ducts but at least it was pretty quiet. So, if you miss the Las Vegas of 50 years past, try to get one of these rooms. Otherwise, while it was safe and clean, I would make another choice. Here’s the room video I made, if you’d like to see for yourself: https://youtu.be/e-r_NCKxXRY

Leave a comment